A Borrowed Quote to Sum up Grief…

“You will lose someone

you can’t live without,

and your heart will be badly broken,

and the bad news is that you never completely get over the loss of your beloved.

But this is also the good news.

They live forever in your broken heart that doesn’t seal back up.

And you come through.

It’s like having a broken leg that never heals perfectly—

that still hurts when the weather gets cold,

but you learn to dance with the limp.”

~~ Anne Lamott

Thank you sofia, for finding this–my own words fail me in this task. Readers, bloggers, we have lost an amazing man, a blogger, a Dominant, a friend.

David is the person who I turned to when I started this blog, when I wrote my first few stories, asking for His advice, and He encouraged me to continue, to grow. I’ve not had any contact with Him in a long while, beyond knowing that He and monkey had become a couple…

And the hardest thing has happened for her–the thing I fear most in being a semi-LDR, and not living with my Dom 24/7–the sudden “vanishing” of Him and discovering later that He had died.

Gods it is so hard to write that so baldly. It happens to us all, this end-of-life,  and I cannot in good faith “ignore” the loss and pretend David never had an impact in my life, never had an impact in several bloggers lives, never was the Dominant to my friend.

His blog is here, A View from the Top, if you’d like to read His words. His stories were just amazing, and He was a true Gentleman Dominant.

You will be missed by our community, David.

And by me.

About vanillamom

For over 8 years--(EIGHT?!) nilla and M have been a D/s couple. I'm the "small s" side of that designation, as he often reminds me. I'm silly and prone to giggling at inopportune times. He's a wicked Sadist, who feeds me my drug of choice--pain. My brain is always spinning dirty and dark little fantasies, which I sometimes share with the world. Welcome to the nilla-verse. It's wet and slippery here...with a dragon or two lurking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to A Borrowed Quote to Sum up Grief…

  1. Jz says:

    I really didn’t know him but I had a huge amount of respect for him.
    Even before he made such a huge difference in the life of my friend…

    • vanillamom says:

      Thanks Jz….I can’t lay claim to “knowing” Him all that well either, but He had such a calm, deep presence that came through in any correspondence. He did make a huge difference in the life of our friend…and for that I’ll always be grateful.

      nilla

    • vanillamom says:

      thanks Fury…

      Grief is hard, isn’t it? You think “oh, today is better…” and then it hits again, almost as hard.

      nilla

  2. sofia says:

    i can only echo Fury ~ well said, ‘Nilla. He will be missed.

    • vanillamom says:

      thank you dear sister, for the quote that spoke directly to my heart, for it was that which gave me the impetus to put my sorrow to words…

      nilla

  3. ytysreloaded says:

    Oh how very sad. Sending all the love out I can to any and every person he touched.

    • vanillamom says:

      You’re welcome seems sadly lacking as a way to express that I’m glad that my words had meaning for you. My heart breaks for you. My heart breaks for all of us who cared for him, but for you most of all, as He was so good to you, for you. If you believe, as I do, that love is the universal rule, and like all energy cannot be destroyed, then I hope you share my belief that he’s still loving you as you love him…just from the “other side”…

      Love,

      nilla

  4. Wordwytch says:

    Oh Damn! I will miss him.

Leave a Reply

