The 5th Great Cookie Exchange

I was going to be ALL prepared for today. Yup. My cookies would be made, I’d take a photo, all would be well. Aaah, the best laid plans of sluts. Instead, I’m sitting here eating chocolates, and wracking my brain for a recipe to share.

Since Jz has opted to call it Holiday Goodies, I’m opting to post my fabulous Penuche Fudge.

Now, some will say fudge is hard and fiddlesome and annoying but I’ll just jump in here and say NO! No, this recipe is really easy, not tiresome, not hard. It will take you around 25 minutes (or less if you lay all your ingredients out to hand first.)

**note–I’ve NEVER added the nuts to this as no one in my family likes them that way, so they are totally optional. I also usually double this recipe.

1/2 cup butter (REAL butter)

1/2 cup HEAVY cream

1/2 cup each white and brown sugar (pack brown sugar into the cup)

1/8 tsp salt

1 cup pecan halves, toasted

1 tsp vanilla extract

2 cups confectioner’s sugar

1. Coat an 8-inch square baking dish with nonstick cooking spray

2. In a large saucepan, bring the butter, heavy cream, sugars, and salt to a rolling boil over medium heat, stirring frequently.

3. Allow to boil for 5 full minutes, stirring constantly, then remove the pan from the heat.

4. Stir in pecans (if using) and vanilla.

5. Add in the confectioners sugar all at once and stir until smooth and well combined (note: I had an issue with lumps, even pre-sifting. These days I use my hand mixer to combine (making sure that it’s ready to rumble before I add in the confectioners sugar–it makes the fudge lovely-smooth and it’s faster!)

6. Pour/spread mix into the prepared pan and allow to cool to room temperature. Cut into 1″ squares with a sharp knife. Store in an airtight container until ready to serve.

This stuff is SUPER sweet and goes well with a hot cup of tea. Alternative uses include spreading the finished fudge while it’s hot onto cookies (we make a pumpkin cookie that tastes awesome with this on top!).

That’s it from here….but the GCE is not over! Go visit these other participants to see what everyone else is doing!

abby

Same Sassygirl

sillyone

sofia

Tom Allen

Just remember, Dec. 10th lasts a whole 24 hours — and goes across international date lines! So if there’s nothing posted, don’t grumble. Just go back later.  🙂

UPDATE:  an hysterical picture from our friend and fellow pervie, LadyP…that we thought would be amusing to add to the cookie exchange of naughty cooking bloggers:

pervertables

About vanillamom

For 8 years--(EIGHT?!) nilla and M have been a D/s couple. I'm the "small s" side of that designation, as he often reminds me. I'm silly and prone to giggling at inopportune times. He's a wicked Sadist, who feeds me my drug of choice--pain. My brain is always spinning dirty and dark little fantasies, which I sometimes share with the world. Welcome to the nilla-verse. It's wet and slippery here...with a dragon or two lurking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to The 5th Great Cookie Exchange

  1. sofia says:

    Yum!! I love fudge, and haven’t tried to make it since I was about 10. It didnt “fudge” then and we had to drink it. I’ll have to try this!!

    • vanillamom says:

      can I just say — I LAUGHED out loud when I read “we had to drink it”…hahahahaha…(liquid fudge is great over ice cream…)

      But this won’t not ‘fudge’ I promise!

      and it is SUPER easy. Really. Would I lie to you?

      nilla

  2. mouse says:

    Yummmmmmmmmmy

  3. Jz says:

    The world can never have too much fudge!
    Srsly. ;-p

    Thanks for playing along!

  4. ronniesoul says:

    Love fudge but never made any. Thanks for the recipe.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

  5. Katie says:

    Time for me to make my first fudge! 🙂 A lot of takers around my place I am sure. thanks for sharing! Many hugs,

    ❤ Katie

    • vanillamom says:

      You will like this recipe Katie…it was my 2nd fudge–the first having been an abject failure…soft ball stage? WTF is that? LOL…

      I hope it works out well for you!

      nilla

  6. catrouble says:

    I love fudge and this recipe looks very good Nilla! I love walnuts in my fudge so might try those instead of pecans. 😉 Thanks for sharing!

    Hugs and Blessings…
    Cat

    • vanillamom says:

      Hi catrouble!

      I love fudge too…and this is easy because no thermometer, no soft ball stage…it has a wee bit of “grain” to it sometimes (because I’m not a baker, per se) but I don’t mind it. And it’s not as intense a flavor as chocolate is. (Sometimes i double the vanilla or use vanilla paste to give it a good *pow* of vanilla flavor)

      nilla

  7. Christina says:

    Ohhhh fudge! Yummy for the tummy! And I love your background – yours is the only blog I’ve seen that is snowing! 😀

    • vanillamom says:

      Hi Christina!

      And it’s EASY fudge, which is important to this lazy/time-pressed baker!

      I LOVE that WordPress does “snow” for us during December…it goes so well with my background!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      nilla

  8. LadyP says:

    Love fudge, but haven’t tried to make it myself.
    A tiny question, though: I’m not quite sure of the ingredient “Confectioner’s sugar” – is that the sugar, that’s grounded superfine to a powder? The kind you would use for icing on a cake?

  9. blossom says:

    oh I do love a nice piece of fudge and think will give this a go and I just laughed at the pic at the end…so funny….thanks for sharing…blossom

    • vanillamom says:

      You’re welcome, blossom. This fudge is both easy and tasty…and if for some reason it doesn’t “fudge” (tho I know it will!) it tastes great over ice cream! (If it doesn’t thicken you just need to add a bit more sugar!)

      nilla

  10. Wordwytch says:

    Ah, I missed the cookie post again. Love the pervy pic though!

Leave a Reply

