It’s COOKIE DAY!

Yes, you read me right! The amazing and talented Jz (she’ll say p’shaw, but really it takes quite some time to pull this stuff together so don’t let her fool you! She works hard to make this event happen every year!) has once more pulled a cookie out of her….

IMG_3780

 

oven.

Wait…..!

What?

What did you think was gonna say, you perv? *giggling*

Anyhow…it’s cookie day. And I baked my first batch of Christmas cookies yesterday to test out this recipe. I have never tried this one before but trust me…it’s fabulous. If you like the taste of almonds like this slut does? You’ll be drooling outside of your oven during their final baking minutes. You’ll drizzle the glaze on it while dancing on one foot then the other, trying to get them all done so you can scoop them offa the pan and into your  face.

I know you will.

Because, hello…test bake yesterday.

So, these are shortbread cookies. They are SUPER simple to make, especially if you buy SEEDLESS raspberry preserves. (I didn’t and had to sieve it myself, which was a pain in the ass but well worth the trouble.)

The recipe says it makes 36 but I got 3 1/2 dozen instead. I use a cookie baller (you perv!) so that it’s faster and easier on my hands…a little dab of the thumb to make a divot, a jot of preserve and then you only have to wait while your mouth waters. I did also find for my oven that I had to add a few minutes of bake time. If they are lightly barely brown around the edges they are done. Without further ado, here’s my recipe. Be sure to visit all the other wonderful bakers and see what they’ve posted to fill out your holiday baking!

Raspberry and Almond Shortbread Thumbprints (preheat oven to 350*)

1 cup butter, softened       2/3 cup white sugar   1/2 teaspoon almond extract

Cream butter and sugar. Mix in extract.

2 cups all purpose flour

Add in flour until dough holds together. Roll dough into even balls appx 1.5 inches and place on ungreased cookie sheet. Make a small dimple on top of each cookie, fill with a dab of jam.

Bake 14-18 minutes until barely browned.

In a separate bowl mix:

1/2 cup confectioners sugar      3/4 tsp almond extract   1 Tbsp milk

(may need more milk or sugar depending on your glaze consistency)

When pan comes out of the oven, let cool for 1 minute, then drizzle a small amount of glaze over the top. They really do look like they’ve been “otherwise” glazed, if you catch my slutty drift…here’s what they looked like right after I took them off the pan and onto the cooling rack:

IMG_3779

Do not eat all in one sitting. (If you do you won’t like me much afterwards. Just sayin’…!)

Okay, here’s the list of all the other sexy bloggers who are taking part in the cookie exchange this year. I urge you to go visit them, too! Many yummy ideas ahead!

abby

Ashly

Bleu (private blog, also posted here)

Blondie

blossom

Cat

CollaredMom

Ms. Constance

Ella

greengirl

Julia

Jz

little monkey (private blog, also posted here)

Maggie

Misty

nilla

ronnie

rose

Ryan

Tom

 

 

About vanillamom

For 8 years--(EIGHT?!) nilla and M have been a D/s couple. I'm the "small s" side of that designation, as he often reminds me. I'm silly and prone to giggling at inopportune times. He's a wicked Sadist, who feeds me my drug of choice--pain. My brain is always spinning dirty and dark little fantasies, which I sometimes share with the world. Welcome to the nilla-verse. It's wet and slippery here...with a dragon or two lurking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to It’s COOKIE DAY!

  1. catrouble says:

    Ooh…Rasberry and Almond…such a lovely combo! These do look yummy and not too difficult. Thanks for sharing.

    Hugs and blessings…Cat

  2. ronniesoul says:

    Shortbread and almond a winner for me. Will have to try this on. Thanks for sharing.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

    • vanillamom says:

      Hi Ronnie,

      They are so light…it is practically like eating air. Which means no calories…right? Ha! Well, everyone knows Christmas cookies don’t have calories anyway!

      nilla

  3. rose says:

    Oh Nilla these look awesome. My thumbprint cookies always turn out lopsided and the filling spills out the edge, clearly I have thumb pressure issues. But this makes me want to try making them again!

    -r x

    • vanillamom says:

      Hi Rose! You do want to just make a dimple, and then just a tiny dash of a teaspoon…maybe a quarter of teaspoon? I didnt measure that part! But they are SO fast to make. And SO fast to eat. 😀

      nilla

  4. areluctantbitch says:

    These look terrific!
    But yes, deseeding raspberries is a pain in the tukus…
    Thanks for playing along!

    • vanillamom says:

      😀

      Live and learn…and the end certainly justifies the means in this case!

      Thanks to YOU for doing this again…such yuummyyy fun!

      nilla

  5. Terpsichore says:

    looks delicious…thanks for sharing! 🙂

  6. blossom says:

    they look so dinky and yummy…will be giving these little thumbilettes a try…smiles

  7. ancilla ksst says:

    Those do look like the perfect “slut cookies” with the glaze on them. Yum!

  8. Misty says:

    Husband will love these! Thanks for sharing.

  9. sofia says:

    O, they look wonderful!! If i baked, i’m sure i would make some of these!

  10. Tom Allen says:

    I really like these. I’ve had the shortbread & raspberry before, but never with a glaze. That sounds like a nice treat with some coffee.

  11. Lilli says:

    Mmmm, these look and sound yummy! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    • vanillamom says:

      thanks lilli!! You know? I didn’t make ANY cookies this year…(shocked a lot of people, I’ll tell ya!)…but I’m going to start checking the cookie exchange list so I can make some for Valentines day.

      nilla

      • Lilli says:

        Really? Well, I ended up only making two kinds myself. Good idea to try some for Valentine’s Day though! I may do that too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

