The Great Cookie Exchange v.2016

It’s here! At last, at last, today is the Great Cookie Exchange. IN the manner of a cookie swap, but without actual cookies. (Not computer ‘cookies’ either!) But those of us participating will be sharing some of our favorite cookie/holiday treat recipes. I have so many favorites that it’s often hard to narrow it down. Peanut butter turbans…mmm…good old fashioned sugar cookies? YUM! Or how about reverse chocolate chip? They’re all SO good. I’m actually baking cookies as I write this on Tuesday, though this years ‘new’ recipe has NOT been made yet. If you’re reading this at Eastern USA breakfast time, I’m actually just now baking the cookie that I’m sharing!

Peppermint Kiss Thumbprint Cookies  Prep time 25 mins  Cook time 12 mins

Soft thumbprint sugar cookies with a creamy white chocolate center and topped with a peppermint kiss!

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup butter
  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 2 egg yolks
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla (I always use more vanilla than called for)
  • 1/2 teaspoon almond extract
  • 2 1/4 cups flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt

For the chocolate

  • 1 cup white chocolate chips
  • 4 tablespoons heavy cream (1/4 cup)
  • red food coloring
  • one bag peppermint Hershey kisses, unwrapped

Instructions

  1. Pre-heat oven to 350°. Lightly spray a baking sheet with cooking spray (or lightly grease with shortening), set aside.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together butter and powdered sugar until smooth. Mix in egg yolks, vanilla, and almond extract. in another, medium sized bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt. Slowly mix dry ingredients into wet ingredients until all ingredients are incorporated. Roll dough into 1 inch balls (oh, balls!! this IS a sexy post after all!) and place on prepared baking sheet 2 inches apart. Use your thumb, or the end of a wooden spoon to make a well in the top of each dough ball.
  3. Bake cookies 10-12 minutes. Remove and allow to cool 5 minutes before carefully removing from pan and allowing to finish cooling. When cookies are cool enough to touch, gently press down the center of the cookie to re-form the well.
  4. In a microwave safe bowl, combine chocolate chips and heavy cream. Microwave on high for 1 minute (or use a double boiler if you don’t have a microwave). Stir until chocolate is melted and mix is smooth. Reserve 1/4 cup of the chocolate and set aside in a zip-lock bag. Add 3-6 drops of food coloring (according to your own preference of color) to the larger portion of chocolate and mix until smooth and even in coloring (I don’t mind it swirled, actually. And I don’t mind leaving it white, either.). Fill each cookie well with approximately 1 teaspoon of the tinted chocolate. Snip off a tiny corner of the zip lock bag and swizzly-drizzle a few lines of the white chocolate over the cookies, then press a peppermint kiss into the middle of the chocolate. Allow to cool completely, and let chocolate set for about 1 hour (or you can pop into the freezer for 10-15 minutes to speed-set the chocolate!). Optional: sprinkle the cooled cookies with granulated or sanding sugar for a more fancy look. (I think I’d do this while the cookies were still “setting” or else the sugar would simply slide off…but I’ll know more after I get them out of the oven!)

The recipe doesn’t look like it makes a ton of cookies, less than 2 dozen. But won’t they look festive on your holiday cookie platter?20161206_134502.jpg

Now, here is the list of all the peeps who are participating in this year’s cookie party! Make sure you go and pay them a visit and see what recipes you’ll be adding to your personal collection. Aaaand….

Huzzah and Image result for gif for confettimagical internet                                 confetti….

to our amazing hostess, Jz, for setting this up for another year. It’s a lot of work–albeit delicious–and I am most appreciative of her annual efforts. So’s my tummy! Happy baking everyone!

abby

 

Ashly

 

Bleue 

 

Cat 

 

collared mom

 

David

 

DelFonte

 

Ella

 

greengirl

 

His slut

 

Jz

 

Katie

 

Kelly

 

Lilli

 

Lindy

 

Mrs. Fever

 

Ms. Constance

 

nilla   Don’t click this link…you’re already HERE, silly!

 

olivia

 

ronnie

 

Ryan

 

 

About vanillamom

For over 8 years--(EIGHT?!) nilla and M have been a D/s couple. I'm the "small s" side of that designation, as he often reminds me. I'm silly and prone to giggling at inopportune times. He's a wicked Sadist, who feeds me my drug of choice--pain. My brain is always spinning dirty and dark little fantasies, which I sometimes share with the world. Welcome to the nilla-verse. It's wet and slippery here...with a dragon or two lurking.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Great Cookie Exchange v.2016

  1. Lindy says:

    MMM sounds so delicious Nilla, thank you for sharing.
    Hugs Lindy xx

  2. ronniesoul says:

    These look so wonderful and yummy. Thanks.

    Love,
    Ronnie
    xx

  3. Jz says:

    Yum!
    Sometimes, a smallish batch is juuuust what you need.
    (Like with this, cuz I’m pretty sure I could eat half of my output in one go!)
    Thanks for playing!

  4. abby says:

    Peppermint and white chocolate….have to add these to my list for this year….just not so sure I want to share them…hugs abby

  5. olivia says:

    Oh, nilla, those look wonderful!! i may have to actually try them… ❤

  6. Lilli says:

    There are so many variations of thumbprint cookies and these sound delicious! I love peppermint, especially this time of the year. 🙂

  7. Mrs Fever says:

    I think I’d have to double the recipe in order to have any left over to share… (Yes, I have a cookie problem. Grin.)

    Thank you for posting about Jz’s exchange and heading me in the right direction to get signed up. I’m loving all the recipes on offer!

  8. Bleue says:

    This is so perfect! I’ve never made thumbprint cookies and will give this a go.

  9. DelFonte says:

    They look fab, I’m drooling!

  10. robskatie says:

    These look so good, Nilla! My girls LOVE peppermint. When they come home at Christmas, I will share your recipe. I am pretty sure they will be making this one asap. Thanks for sharing! Many hugs,

    ❤ Katie

  11. catrouble says:

    I loved making thumbprint cookies with my kiddos…this looks like it would be a fun recipe to my with my grands! And the icing on the cake…my youngest grand absolutely loves peppermint! Thanks so much for sharing, nilla!

    Hugs and blessings…Cat

  12. monkey says:

    Peppermint is one of my favorite flavors of all time. I used to walk downtown with my Grandpa every Saturday when I was little to the Bordens Ice Cream store. I ALWAYS chose the pink peppermint. I can eat candycanes all year long. I’m making these this weekend. I’ll probably eat most of them all by myself.

Leave a Reply

